4.6.1 ACCIDENT REPORTING IN CONNECTICUT
In Connecticut, operators must report any accident involving
- $500.00 or more in damages;
- Complete loss of a vessel;
- Injuries to any person requiring treatment greater than first aid; or
- The death or disappearance of any person, from whatever the cause.
When an accident occurs that requires a written report, the operator shall, without delay, by the quickest means available, notify the nearest Connecticut Law Enforcement agency of the accident on a "State Boating Accident Form":
- within 48 hours of any accident requiring either medical attention greater than first aid or resulting in the death or disappearance of a person;
- within 5 days of an accident causing property/equipment damage only
When the operator of a vessel cannot give the notice required by the foregoing, each person, onboard the vessel shall notify a law-enforcement officer, or determine that the notice has been given.