Q. What is the Michigan Boating Safety Certificate?
A. The Michigan Boating Safety Certificate (also known as the Michigan Boating License or boaters license) is proof that you have met the mandatory boat safety education requirements for the State of Michigan. The Michigan Boating Safety Certificate is good for life and does not need to be renewed.
Q. Boating License or Boating Safety Certificate... is there a difference?
A.The Boating Safety Certificate is proof that you have successfully completed a boating safety course. The boating safety certificate does not expire and does not need to be renewed; therefore it is NOT a Michigan Boating License!
Q. I do not have a driver's license. Can I still get the Michigan Boating Safety Certificate?
A. Yes. You are not required to have a state driver's license in order to obtain a boating safety certificate.
Q. How can I get my Michigan Boating Safety Certificate?
A. You can obtain your Michigan Boating Safety Certificate in 4 easy steps:
- Pay the one-time fee of $29.95 — free unlimited retries of the final exam
- Study the Michigan Boating Safety Course
- Pass the Michigan boating certification exam
- Print your Michigan Boating Safety Certificate
Q. Do I need to take a Proctored Exam?
A. No, you can obtain your Boating Safety Certificate entirely online. After successfully completing the course and certification exam, you can immediately print your Boating Safety Certificate and go boating right away!
Q. Who needs a Michigan boater license?
A. The Michigan DNR currently has a mandatory boater education requirement that requires all persons born after July 1, 1996 to have a boat safety certificate (also referred to as the Michigan boating license) to operate a motorboat on Michigan waters.
Boaters under the age of 12 must have a boat safety certificate and be under direct supervision by someone 16 years or older to operate a motorboat.
Boater education is also required for all persons born after December 31, 1978 who are at least 14 years of age and who wish to operate a personal watercraft (PWC) on Michigan waters. For more information on boat license requirements, consult the Michigan boating laws and regulations.
Q. Does the Boating Safety Certificate expire?
A. No, your Michigan Boating Safety Certificate is good for life.
Q. How much does the boat safety course cost?
A. There is a one-time fee of $29.95 paid to BOATERexam.com®, which includes the course, unlimited attempts at the certification exam, and Boating Safety Certificate. Learn more about BOATERexam.com's Risk-Free Policy.
Q. Is there a time limit to complete the final exam?
A. You can take the final exam at any time, day or night. The exam is not timed but inactive exams will be erased after 24 hours.
Q. Is there a time limit to complete the online course?
A. You can take the online course at any time, day or night. However, if it has been more than 12 months since you have started the course, you will have to restart the course from the beginning (if you already paid, you will NOT have to pay for the course again).
Q.What do I need to pass the online boating safety course?
A. You need a grade of 80% or higher on the boating certification exam to pass. That means 48 correct answers out of 60.
Q. Can I review my Boater Exam answers?
A. Yes, once you have completed the boating license test and submitted all your answers they are graded immediately. You have the opportunity to review all your Boater Exam answers, whether you have passed or failed the Boater Exam.
Q. Are there Boater Exam practice tests or sample boater exam questions available?
A. Throughout the boat safety course, you can take end-of-chapter-quizzes that prepare you for the final exam. These chapter quizzes are short boater exam practice tests that cover the same topics that are present in the boating certification exam.
Q. Is anyone exempt from obtaining the Michigan Boating Safety Certificate?
A. Yes, there are certain exemptions from the boat safety education requirement. For more information, check out the Michigan Boating Laws page.
Q. What are the technical requirements for the online boating safety course and boating license test?
||Internet Explorer 9.0
|Latest versions of Chrome,
Firefox, or Internet Explorer
||Windows XP or
Mac OS 9
|Windows 7 or
Mac OS X