Oklahoma Boating Regulations and Laws
The Oklahoma Boater Education Card (also referred to as the
Oklahoma boating license) is proof that a boater has taken and passed an
approved boater education course. The Oklahoma Highway Patrol currently has a mandatory
boater education requirement that requires any person who is 12, 13, 14 or 15 years of age that operates any boat powered by a motor more
than 10 horsepower, a sailboat 16 feet or greater in length or a personal watercraft (PWC) to successfully complete a boating safety education class to satisfy the Oklahoma boating regulations.
Many boating fatalities occur because boaters aren't educated about boating safety. The Oklahoma Highway Patrol believes that an educated boater is a safer boater.
Where can I take my safe boating exam and get my Boater Education Card?
You can take your safe boating exam directly on the Internet at BOATERexam.com™.
Once you pass the exam your boater education card is mailed to
your home. In the meantime, you can print off a Certificate of Completion
that can be used until your permanent boater education card arrives.
Where can I get the boater safety education course material?
All the required safe boating training
material to get your boater education card is available
for free at BOATERexam.com™. Simply visit
our Oklahoma Safe Boating Course section
to gain access to the free training material. The Oklahoma
Safe Boating Course is accredited by the Oklahoma Highway Patrol.
Where can I get more information about Oklahoma boating regulations and the Oklahoma boater education card?
Answers to most of your questions about the Oklahoma boater's license can
be found on our Frequently
Asked Questions page. You may also visit The Oklahoma Highway Patrol for additional information, or you can ontact
us and we will be glad to answer any of your questions.
Get your Oklahoma Boating License Online!
Did you know?
Many boaters incorrectly use the term "Oklahoma
Boating License" when referring to their Boater Education Card. The
Boater Education Card is NOT a boating license. Unlike a driver's license, your
Boater Education Card cannot be revoked and is good for life.
Any person who is 12, 13, 14 or 15 years of age that operates any boat powered by a motor more than 10 horsepower, a sailboat 16 feet or greater in length or a personal watercraft (PWC) is required to successfully complete a boating safety education class.