Q. What is the Colorado Boating Safety Certificate?
A. The Colorado Boating Safety Certificate (mistakenly referred to as the Colorado boating license ) or boaters license is proof that you have met the mandatory boat safety education requirements for the State of Colorado. The Colorado Boating Safety Certificate is good for life and does not need to be renewed.
Q. Colorado Boating License or Boating Safety Certificate... is there a difference?
A.The Boating Safety Certificate is proof that you have successfully completed a boating safety course. The boating safety certificate does not expire and does not need to be renewed. Therefore, it is NOT a Colorado Boating License!
Q. I do not have a driver's license. Can I still get the Colorado Boating Safety Certificate?
A. Yes. You are not required to have a state driver's license in order to obtain a boating safety certificate.
Q. How can I get my Colorado Boating Safety Certificate?
A. You can obtain your Colorado Boating Safety Certificate in 4 easy steps*:
- Pay the one-time fee of $29.95 — free unlimited retries of the final exam
- Study the Colorado Boating Safety Course
- Pass the Colorado Boating Safety Test
- Receive your permanent card in the mail within 3-5 weeks
*Boaters aged 14 or 15 years of age must take an in-person proctored exam in order to obtain their boating safety certificate. The online boating safety course is meant only as a study tool for persons under the age of 16 in Colorado.
Q. Who needs a Colorado Boating Safety Certificate?
A. The Colorado Boating Safety Certificate (mistakenly referred to as a Colorado boat license, boating license or boater license) is proof that a boater has taken and passed an approved boater education course. Currently, boat operators who are 14 or 15 years of age and wish to operate a motorboat you are required to get the Boating Safety Certificate to operate on Colorado waters. For more information please consult the Colorado boating laws and regulations page.
Q. How long is the boat safety course and boater license good for?
A. The boater license is good for life.
Q. How much does the boat safety course cost?
A.There is no charge to access the course manual or take the exam. For those 16 years of age and older there is a cost of $29.95 to get your Boater Education Card, which will be mailed to your home within 3-5 weeks. Online boating safety test.
Q. Is there a time limit to complete the final exam?
A. You can take the final exam at any time, day or night. The exam is not timed but inactive exams will be erased after 24 hours.
Q. Is there a time limit to complete the online course?
A. You can take the online course at any time, day or night. However, if it has been more than 12 months since you have started the course, you will have to restart the course from the beginning (if you already paid, you will NOT have to pay for the course again).
Q.What do I need to pass the Colorado Boating Test/Certification Exam?
A. You need a grade of 80% or higher on the boating license test to pass. That means 48 correct answers out of 60.
Q. Can I review my Boater Exam answers?
A. Yes, once you have completed the boating license test and submitted all your answers they are graded immediately. You have the opportunity to review all your Boater Exam answers, whether you have passed or failed the Boater Exam.
Q. Are there Boater Exam practice tests or sample boater exam questions available?
A. Throughout the boat safety course, you can take end-of-chapter-quizzes that prepare you for the final exam. These chapter quizzes are short boater exam practice tests that cover the same topics that are present in the boating license test.
Q. Is anyone exempt from obtaining the Colorado Boater Education Card?
A. No. If you are 14 or 15 years of age and wish to operate a motorboat then you are required to get the Boating Safety Certificate to operate on Colorado waters.
Q. What are the technical requirements for the online boating safety course and boating license test?
||Internet Explorer 9.0
|Latest versions of Chrome,
Firefox, or Internet Explorer
||Windows XP or
Mac OS 9
|Windows 7 or
Mac OS X