Louisiana PFD Requirements
Personal Flotation Devices (PFDs)
- The Louisiana Department of Wildlife & Fisheries requires one wearable Type I, II or III PFD for each person aboard a vessel less than 16 feet in length or any length canoe or kayak. Ensure PFDs are readily accessible.
- Louisiana boaters are required to carry at least one Type IV (throwable device) PFD aboard any motorized vessel.
- Flotation devices that are ripped or are in poor condition are not considered approved.
- Someone being towed behind the boat is considered aboard.
- All PWC occupants must be wearing their PFD while underway.
PERSONAL FLOTATION DEVICE: Louisiana law requires that all children 16 years of age and younger wear a U.S. Coast Guard approved PFD while underway on a vessel less than 26 feet long. The PFD must be fastened and of the proper size for the child.
A Louisiana Boating License is required for all persons born on or after January 1, 1988 who operate a powered watercraft over 10 hp on Louisiana waters.