Q. What is the Oregon Boater Education Card?
A. The Oregon Boater Education Card (mistakenly referred to as the Oregon Boating License or boaters license) is proof that you have met the mandatory boat safety education requirements for the State of Oregon. The Oregon Boater Education Card is good for life and does not need to be renewed.
Q. Oregon Boating License or Boater Education Card... is there a difference?
A.The boater education card is proof that you have successfully completed a boating safety course. The boater education card does not expire and does not need to be renewed. Therefore, it is NOT a Oregon Boating License!
Q. I do not have a driver's license. Can I still get the Oregon Boater Education Card?
A. Yes. You are not required to have a state driver's license in order to obtain a boater education card.
Q. How can I get my Oregon Boater Education Card?
A. You can obtain your Oregon Boater Education Card in 4 easy steps:
- Pay the one-time fee of $29.95 — free unlimited retries of the final exam
- Study the Oregon Boating Safety Course and take the final exam
- Pay the $10 state fee for the card only after you pass
- Print off your temporary card and receive your permanent card in the mail within 3-5 weeks
Q. Who needs an Oregon Boater Education Card?
A.The Oregon Boater Education Card (mistakenly referred to as an Oregon boat license, boating license or boater license) is proof that a boater has taken and passed an approved boater education course. ALL Oregon residents must now carry the Oregon boater education card when operating powerboats (including personal watercraft or any motorized watercraft) greater than 10 hp. For more information please consult the Oregon boating laws and regulations page.
Q. How long is the boater's education card good for?
A. The boater's education card is good for life.
Q. How much does the boat safety course cost?
A. There is a one-time fee of $29.95 paid to BOATERexam.com®. It includes unlimited free retries of the final exam. There is also an additional $10 fee—collected after you pass the final exam—for the state issued boater education card. Learn more about BOATERexam.com's Risk-Free Policy.
BOATERexam.com® can collect the $10 fee and handle the processing of your Oregon Boater Education Card on your behalf. Alternatively, you can pay the $29.95 fee to BOATERexam.com® and send a separate $10.00 check to the Oregon State Marine Board along with the application form to get your boater education card.
More information on payment options
Q. What does the boating safety course consist of?
A. The Oregon safe boating course is made up of 9 chapters. Each chapter consists of a number of pages all of which have been given a minimum study time. Each of the pages within a chapter must subsequently be studied for the minimum required time before you may proceed to the next page.
Once you have studied a chapter in its entirety you will be able to access the 10 question practice test for that chapter. All the questions are multiple choice and related to the material just covered in that chapter. A passing grade of 80% is required for each end of chapter practice test and a failing grade means the chapter will need to be repeated. Once a chapter is completed and the practice test has been passed you will be able to proceed to the following chapter. After all 9 chapters and practice test have been completed you will be able to take the certification exam.
Q. What if I don't pass an end of chapter practice test?
A. In the event that you don't pass one of the end of chapter Practice Tests simply take note of the areas in which you experienced difficulties as shown in the Post-Test critique. You will then be required to return and review the chapter material again before you can attempt the quiz again. Make sure you're ready before attempting an end of chapter Practice Test!
Q. What if I don't pass the Oregon Boating Test / Certification Exam? What happens if I fail?
A. No problem. At BOATERexam.com™, if you fail the Oregon Certification Exam on your first try you are given another attempt. As mandated by the Oregon State Marine Board, if you are unsuccessful on your second attempt you will be required to re-study the manual and pass the practice tests again before you will be able to retry the exam. However,
you will NOT be required to pay the exam fee a second time, there is no cost to retake the course or retry the exam if you do not pass.
Q. Is there a time limit to complete the final exam?
A. You can take the final exam at any time, day or night. The exam is not timed but inactive exams will be erased after 24 hours.
Q. Is there a time limit to complete the online course?
A. You can take the online course at any time, day or night. However, if it has been more than 12 months since you have started the course, you will have to restart the course from the beginning (if you already paid, you will NOT have to pay for the course again).
Q.What do I need to pass the boating license test?
A. You need a grade of 80% or higher on the boating license test to pass. That means 60 correct answers out of 75.
Q. Can I review my Boater Exam answers?
A. Yes, once you have completed the boating license test and submitted all your answers they are graded immediately. You have the opportunity to review all your Boater Exam answers, whether you have passed or failed the Boater Exam.
Q. Are there Boater Exam practice tests or sample boater exam questions available?
A. Throughout the boat safety course, you can take end-of-chapter-quizzes that prepare you for the final exam. These chapter quizzes are short boater exam practice tests that cover the same topics that are present in the boating license test.
Q. Is anyone exempt from obtaining the Oregon Boater Education Card?
A. Yes, there are certain exemptions from the boat safety education requirement. For more information, check out the Oregon Boating Laws page.