Get your TEXAS Boating License Online with Boater Exam®

Who needs to take the Texas boaters safety course?

All boaters born after September 1, 1993 must have a Texas Boater Education Certificate to operate motorized watercrafts over 15HP or wind-blown vessels over 14ft.® is a delegated provider for the Texas Parks and Wildlife.

Get Certified

Returning user? Log in here

Texas Boating Safety Education Certificate
Texas Parks and Wildlife

Approved by the

Texas Parks and Wildlife

Boating Safety Education Certificate is good for life

Good for life!

Get your official
Texas Boating License

Complete the Texas Boaters Safety Course in
4 Easy Steps

Take your BOATERexam® course and be certified for life!

Step 1

est. 2–3 mins

Sign Up

Sign up for a Boaterexam® account, pay for the official course, and get started. It only takes a few minutes.

Step 2

est. 3–4 hrs

Study & Pass the Online Course

Take the course on desktop, tablet or mobile. We automatically save your progress so you can learn at your own pace.

Step 3

est. 1–5 mins

Print Your Temp Card Immediately

Pass the online exam and print your temporary boating certificate immediately.

Step 4

est. 0 mins

Go Boating!

Hit the water! You're all set to legally operate a boat.

Over 2,000,000 boating students certified and counting: has a TrustPilot rating of 4.7 out of 5 based on 17707 ratings and reviews.

Texas Boating Safety Education Certificate

Texas Boater Safety Course

Texas has a mandatory education law for certain boaters. All boaters born after August 31, 1993, must complete a TPWD-approved course and be certified with the TPWD to operate:

  • Any vessel over 15 horse power.
  • Any windblown vessel over 14 feet.
  • All personal watercraft

Additional Information

Exemptions for those born after August 31, 1993 include:

  • Operating your motorboat on private waters
  • Boaters who are accompanied by a person 18 or older who is exempt from mandatory education
  • Boaters who are residents of another state that have passed a TPWD-approved course in another state

Personal Watercraft (PWC) Age Requirements

12 years of age or younger:
An adult (18 years of age or older) must be present on the watercraft while anyone 12 years of age or younger is operating a PWC.

13 - 17 years of age:
An adult (18 years of age or older) must be present on the watercraft while anyone 13 - 17 years of age is operating a PWC. Unless, the operator has successfully completed a Texas Parks and Wildlife Department Approved Safe Boating Course. *

* Persons subject to this law must have a picture identification card and a boater certification card issued by the department in their possession.

Mobile Optimized

Boating safety course on an iPad and iPhone

Study on Any Device

From laptop to mobile phone to tablet, choose when and where to take your boating course and get your Texas Boating Card.

Visual Exam Questions

person looking at screens of the illustrated boating safety course

Visual Exam Questions Help You Learn

We found out a long time ago that people learn best when they can see what they're learning. Shouldn't you be tested the same way? Every one of our exam questions is illustrated to help you get your boating licence.

Engaging Videos

person pressing play on a boating safety course video on a tablet screen

Hundreds of Engaging Videos

Our Texas boating license course features hundreds of rich engaging boating videos and animations. That means you aren't just reading: You're watching, listening and learning.

Texas Approved Boating License & Safety Course

Map of the United States® is trusted by agencies across the United States to deliver the best of quality in boater safety. Our courses consistently receive the highest level of approval from agencies and from boaters.

This official Texas boating safety course is approved by the Texas Parks and Wildlife, the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA) and recognized by the U.S. Coast Guard (USCG).

Texas Parks and Wildlife logo

Texas Parks and Wildlife
4200 Smith School Road
Austin, TX 78744

Progressive and

Protect your on-water adventures

Relaxing on the water is easy when you’re protected with a leader in boat insurance. Progressive has the coverages you need to explore carefree and full of adventure! Discover how we can protect your boat today with coverage we offer to the 1 million+ watercraft we already insure.

Get a Quote
Established 1937, 1+ million boats insured

Wavve Boating

A Wavve of Savings

Get your first year FREE!

Complete your course and get the first year of Wavve Boating for FREE.

Learn More

FAQs about getting a Texas Boating License

Below are some common questions about safe boating rules & regulations.


How much does the boat safety course cost?


There is a one-time fee of $34.95 + $10.00 state fee paid to®. It includes unlimited attempts at the final exam.


What payment methods are accepted?


We accept payments by VISA, Mastercard, AMEX, PayPal, and Prepaid vouchers.


What is the "Certificate of Completion"?


The Certificate of Completion is a temporary proof of competency and proves that you took a boater education course and passed.


What is the Texas Boating Safety Education Certificate?


Texas Boating Safety Education Certificate (also known as the Texas boating license or boaters license) is proof that you have met the mandatory boat safety education requirements for the State of Texas. The Texas Boating Safety Education Certificate is good for life and does not need to be renewed. You'll be emailed a link to get your Boating Safety Education Certificate by the Texas Parks and Wildlife 30 days after you complete all certification requirements.


I do not have a driver's license. Can I still get the Texas boater license?


Yes. You are not required to have a state driver's license in order to obtain a Boating Safety Education Certificate.


How can I get my Texas boating license?


You can obtain your Texas Boating Safety Education Certificate in 3 easy steps:

  1. Pay the one-time fee of $34.95 + $10.00 state fee – free unlimited retries of the final exam
  2. Study the Texas Boaters Safety Course, and pass the final exam
  3. Print your Certificate of Completion. Your Texas Boating Safety Education Certificate will be available for download from the Texas Parks and Wildlife site. It takes up to 2 weeks to get your card loaded into the TPWD Boater Education system. /your temporary certificate is valid for 60 days. Please wait for at least 2 weeks before attempting to print your card or calling TPWD about your certification added

This official Texas boaters safety course is approved by the Texas Parks and Wildlife, the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA) and recognized by the U.S. Coast Guard (USCG).


How long is the boat safety course and boater license good for?


The boater license is good for life.


Is anyone exempt from obtaining the Texas boating license?


Check out the Texas Boating Laws page to see if there are any exemptions from the boat safety education requirement.


Is there a time limit to complete the online course?


You can take the online course at any time, day or night. However, courses must be completed within 90 days of payment at which time your access to the course will expire.


How many questions are on the exam?


The exam consists of 75 multiple choice questions.


What is the passing grade?


The passing grade is 80%, or 60 correct answers out of 75 questions.
A customer service agent with blue hair on laptop

Need Help? Visit the® Help Center

The® Help Center is the place to find answers and solutions to your questions.
We've helped over 2 million people get certified online. So, we know what it takes.

Visit the Help Center