MENU

Take your OHIO
Boater Exam Online

Who needs the Ohio Boater Education Card?

All boaters born after December 31, 1981 must have an Ohio Boater Education Certificate to operate any motorized watercraft over 10 HP. BOATERexam.com® is a delegated provider for the Ohio Department of Natural Resources, Division of Watercraft.

Ohio Boater Education Card
Ohio Department of Natural Resources, Division of Watercraft

Approved by the

Ohio Department of Natural Resources, Division of Watercraft

Boater Education Card is good for life

Good for life!

Get your official
Ohio Boating License

Get your Ohio Boater Card in
3 Easy Steps

Take your Boater Exam and be certified for life!

Step 1: Study the Course

Study the Course

Watch, listen and learn

Step 2: Pass the Exam

Pass the Exam

Retries are always free

Step 3: Print your card

Print your card

Go boating right away!

Over 2,000,000 boating students certified and counting:

BOATERexam.com has a TrustPilot rating of 4.7 out of 5 based on 17707 ratings and reviews.

Ohio Boater Education Card

Ohio Boater Safety Course

In Ohio, anyone born on or after January 1, 1982, must successfully complete a boater safety course approved by The ODNR Division of Parks and Watercraft in order to operate a motorized vessel with greater than 10 hp. Boaters are required to carry their boater education certificate as proof of boater education.



Boating Age Requirements

Motorized vessels with greater than 10 hp motor (excluding PWC):

Individuals 12 years of age or older may legally operate (unsupervised). Individuals under 12 years of age may operate if a supervising person is aboard.

Motorized vessels with less than 10 hp motor or vessels without a motor (excluding PWC):

Individuals that are 12 years of age or older may legally operate. Individuals under 12 years of age may operate if the operator is under the direct visual and audible supervision of a supervising person (not required to be on board).

Note: Under Ohio law, a supervising person is defined as an adult person who is 18 years of age or older and provides direct visual and audible supervision. A supervising person must meet the mandatory education requirements as described above.



Personal Watercraft (PWC) Age Requirements

  • Individuals who are 16 years of age or older may legally operate a PWC (unsupervised)
  • Individuals 12-15 years of age may operate IF a supervising person is aboard
  • Individuals under 12 years of age may not operate at all

Mobile Optimized

Boating safety course on an iPad and iPhone

Study on Any Device

From laptop to mobile phone to tablet, choose when and where to take your boating course and get your Ohio Boating Card.

Visual Exam Questions

person looking at screens of the illustrated boating safety course

Visual Exam Questions Help You Learn

We found out a long time ago that people learn best when they can see what they're learning. Shouldn't you be tested the same way? Every one of our exam questions is illustrated to help you get your boating licence.

Engaging Videos

person pressing play on a boating safety course video on a tablet screen

Hundreds of Engaging Videos

Our Ohio boating license course features hundreds of rich engaging boating videos and animations. That means you aren't just reading: You're watching, listening and learning.

Ohio Approved, Trusted Nationwide

Map of the United States

BOATERexam.com® is trusted by agencies across the United States to deliver the best of quality in boating safety education. Our courses consistently receive the highest level of approval from agencies and from boaters.

This official Ohio boating safety course is approved by the Ohio Department of Natural Resources, Division of Watercraft.

Ohio Department of Natural Resources, Division of Watercraft logo

Ohio Department of Natural Resources, Division of Watercraft
2045 Morse Road Building C
Columbus, OH 43229
http://watercraft.ohiodnr.gov

Logos; Global Marine Insurance, BOATERexam.com

Save On Boat Insurance

We've partnered with Global Marine Insurance to bring you a fast, convenient way to protect your investment and hit the water with peace of mind. Global Marine's boat insurance experts work with the major insurance carriers to find you the coverage you need at the best rates, it couldn't be easier. Get your quote and start saving today!

Quick Online Quote
people in a boat on the water
Wavve boating app open on mobile phone
Wavve Boating Logo

A Wavve Of Savings

Start Your Free 2-Week Trial

Wavve Boating provides easy to use GPS navigation, customizable nautical maps, social connectivity and more. Get the iOS or Android app today!

Start My Trial

Ohio Frequently Asked Questions

Below are some common questions about safe boating rules & regulations.

Q.

How much does the boat safety course cost?

A.

There is a one-time fee of $34.95 paid to BOATERexam.com®. It includes unlimited attempts at the final exam.

Q.

What payment methods are accepted?

A.

We accept payments by VISA, Mastercard, AMEX, PayPal, and Prepaid vouchers.

Q.

What is the "Certificate of Completion"?

A.

The Certificate of Completion is a temporary proof of competency and proves that you took a boater education course and passed.

Q.

What is the Ohio Boater Education Card?

A.

Ohio Boater Education Card (also known as the Ohio boating license or boaters license) is proof that you have met the mandatory boat safety education requirements for the State of Ohio. The Ohio Boater Education Card is good for life and does not need to be renewed.

Q.

I do not have a driver's license. Can I still get the Ohio boater license?

A.

Yes. You are not required to have a state driver's license in order to obtain a Boater Education Card.

Q.

How can I get my Ohio boating license?

A.

You can obtain your Ohio Boater Education Card in 4 easy steps:

  1. Pay the one-time fee of $34.95 – free unlimited retries of the final exam
  2. Study the Ohio Boating Safety Course
  3. Study the Ohio Boating Safety Online Exam
  4. Print your Certificate of Completion, and receive your Ohio Boater Education Card in the mail within 2-3 weeks

Q.

How long is the boat safety course and boater license good for?

A.

The boater license is good for life.

Q.

Is anyone exempt from obtaining the Ohio boating license?

A.

Yes, there are certain exemptions from the boat safety education requirement. For more information, check out the Ohio Boating Laws page.

Q.

Is there a time limit to complete the online course?

A.

You can take the online course at any time, day or night. However, courses must be completed within 90 days of payment at which time your access to the course will expire.

Q.

How many questions are on the exam?

A.

The exam consists of 60 multiple choice questions.

Q.

What is the passing grade?

A.

The passing grade is 80%, or 48 correct answers out of 60 questions.

Need help? Contact Us!

We've helped over 2 million people get certified online. So we know what it takes. Think of us as a coach who you can
call or email if you ever need help.

Available when you need us!
7 days a week
9AM to MIDNIGHT (EST)

Phone Support
usa: 1-866-764-2628
can: 1-866-688-2628