Q. What is the Florida Boating Safety Education ID Card?
A. The Florida Boating Safety Education ID Card (also known as the Florida boating license or boaters license) is proof that you have met the mandatory boat safety education requirements for the State of Florida. The Florida Boating Safety Education ID Card is good for life and does not need to be renewed.
Q. Boating License or Boater Safety Education ID Card... is there a difference?
A.The boater education card is proof that you have successfully completed a boating safety course. The boater education card does not expire and does not need to be renewed. Therefore, it is NOT a Florida Boating License!
Q. I do not have a driver's license. Can I still get the Florida Boating Safety Education ID Card?
A. Yes. You are not required to have a state driver's license in order to obtain a boater education card.
Q. How can I get my Florida Boating Safety Education ID Card?
A. You can obtain your Florida Bobber Card in 3 easy steps:
- Study the Florida Boating Safety Course
- Make payment for the course after you pass the final exam
- Print a temporary card immediately and receive your permanent card in the mail within 3-5 weeks
Q. Who needs a Florida boater license?
A. As of 2010, all boaters born on or after January 1, 1988 must have a valid boating safety education ID card when operating any motorized vessel over 10hp on Florida's waters. For more information please consult the Florida boating laws and regulations page.
Q. How long is the boat safety course and boater license good for?
A. The boater license is good for life.
Q. How much does the boat safety course cost?
A. There is a one-time fee of $29.95 paid to BOATERexam.com. Payment is collected only after you have successfully passed the course and final exam, and includes unlimited attempts at the final exam. Learn more about BOATERexam.com's Risk-Free Policy.
Q. Is there a time limit to complete the final exam?
A. You can take the final exam at any time, day or night. The exam is not timed but inactive exams will be erased after 24 hours.
Q. Is there a time limit to complete the online course?
A. You can take the online course at any time, day or night. However, if it has been more than 12 months since you have started the course, you will have to restart the course from the beginning (if you already paid, you will NOT have to pay for the course again).
Q. What do I need to pass the boating license?
A. You need a grade of 80% or higher on the boating license test to pass. That means 48 correct answers out of 60.
Q. Can I review my Boater Exam answers?
A. Yes, once you have completed the boating license test and submitted all your answers they are graded immediately. You have the opportunity to review all your Boater Exam answers, whether you have passed or failed the Boater Exam.
Q. Are there Boater Exam practice tests or sample boater exam questions available?
A. Throughout the boat safety course, you can take end-of-chapter-quizzes that prepare you for the final exam. These chapter quizzes are short boater exam practice tests that cover the same topics that are present in the boating license test.
Q. Is anyone exempt from obtaining the Florida Boater License?
A. Yes, there are certain exemptions from the boat safety education requirement. For more information, check out the Florida Boating Laws page.
Q. What are the technical requirements for the online boating safety course and boating license test?
||Internet Explorer 7.0
|Latest versions of Chrome,
Firefox, or Internet Explorer
||Windows XP or
Mac OS 9
|Windows 7 or
Mac OS X