Indiana Boating Regulations and Laws
The Indiana Boater Education Card is proof that a boater has taken and passed an approved boater education course. As of January 1, 1996, all vessel or PWC operators are required to hold a valid driver’s license in order to operate on all Indiana public waters.
All persons who are 15 years of age, or persons 16 years and older who do not have a driver’s license, may only operate a motorboat or PWC once they have successfully completed a Boater Education course that is approved by the Department of Natural Resources. They must then carry onboard an I.D. issued by the Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles stating successful course completion, at all times while operating.
Many boating fatalities occur because boaters aren't educated about boating safety. The Indiana Deparment of Natural Resources believes that an educated boater is a safer boater.
Where can I take my safe boating exam and get my Boater Education Card?
You can write your safe boating exam directly on the Internet at BOATERexam.com™.
Once you pass the exam your boater education card is mailed to
your home. In the meantime, you can print off a Certificate of Completion
that can be used as a temporary certificate to satisfy the Indiana boating
regulations until your permanent boater education card arrives.
Where can I get the boater safety education course material?
All the required safe boating training
material to get your boater education card is available
at BOATERexam.com™. Simply visit
our Indiana Safe Boating Course section
to gain access to the training material. The Indiana
Safe Boating Course is accredited by the Indiana Department of Natural Resources.
Where can I get more information about Indiana boating regulations and the Indiana boater education card?
Answers to most of your questions about the Indiana boater education card can
be found on our Frequently
Asked Questions page. You may also visit The Indiana Deparment of Natural Resources
for additional information, or you can contact
us and we will be glad to answer any of your questions.
Get your Indiana Boater Education Card Online!
All persons who are 15 years of age, or persons 16 years and older who do not have a driver's license, may only operate a motorboat or PWC once they have successfully completed a Boater Education course.