Kansas Boating Safety Education Requirements
A Kansas Boating License is required for all persons born on or after January 1, 1989, and less than 21 years of age* who operated any motorized boat or sailboat on Kansas waters. Kansas Boating License
* Unless in the presence and direct supervision of a person who is at least 18 years of age with valid certification or exemption.
The online Kansas Boating License satisfies this state requirement. Passing the online exam allows you to obtain the Kansas Boater Education Card and get out on the water right away!
* This requirement does not apply to a person accompanied by and under the direct supervision of a person 18 years of age or older who either possesses a certificate of completion of an approved boater safety education course, or is legally exempt from the requirement.
- All boat operators must be at least 12 years of age.
- Children 11 years of age or younger can only operate a motorized boat (including personal watercraft) on Kansas waters when accompanied by and under the direct supervision of a person who is at least 18 years of age.
- Any person born on or after January 1, 1989 must complete an approved boater safety education course in order to operate a motorboat or sailboat on public waters in Kansas.*
- All those persons who are 12 years old or younger must be wearing a U. S. Coast Guard-approved PFD (Type I, II or III) whether on or being towed behind a boat.
The online boating safety course covers a wide range of operating laws in Kansas. For a complete listing of Kansas's boat operating rules and regulations, please consult Kansas Department of Wildlife, Parks and Tourism website at www.kdwp.state.ks.us
Boating License or Boater Education Card... is there a difference?
The boater education card is proof that you have successfully completed a boating safety course. The boater education card does not expire and does not need to be renewed. Therefore, it is NOT a Kansas Boating License!