New York Boating Laws and Regulations
The New York Boating Safety Certificate (often incorrectly called the New York boating license) is proof that a boater has taken and passed an
approved eight (8) hour boater education classroom course and proctored final exam. The New York Office of Parks, Recreation & Historic Preservation
has a mandatory boater education requirement for all boaters between
10 and 18 years of age who operate a motorboat and for all persons 14 years of age and older
who operate a PWC. The New York boating safety certificate must be carried on board when the vessel is
In order to meet New York's mandatory education requirement, boaters must successfully
complete a boating safety course with a minimum of 8 hours of classroom instruction
and a proctored exam. For a list of classroom courses, please visit: www.nysparks.com or Safe Boating America.
How can I prepare for the classroom course and proctored exam?
BOATERexam.com offers a free online safe boating study guide, covering all of the boating safety basics that you will learn in your classroom course. The BOATERexam.com study guide has been reviewed by New York Office of Parks, Recreation & Historic Preservation to include all of the required state specific boating information. You can also prepare yourself for the final proctored exam by taking our practice chapter quizzes. The BOATERexam.com study guide and practice quizzes can be accessed anytime, and you can log in and out to review the study guide at your own pace.
Where can I get more information about New York boating regulations and the New York boater education card?
Answers to most of your questions about the New York boating safety certificate can
be found on our Frequently
Asked Questions page. You may also visit The New York Office of Parks, Recreation
& Historic Preservation for additional information, or you can contact
us and we will be glad to answer any of your questions.
Boater Education is required for all persons between 10 and 18 years of age who operate a motorboat and for all persons 14 years of age and older who operate a PWC on New York waters.