Utah Boating Regulations and Laws
Many boating fatalities occur because boaters aren't educated about boating safety. The Utah State Parks
believes that an educated boater is a safer boater.
The Utah Boating Safety Certificate (also referred to as the Utah boating license) is required for all persons 12 and 17 years of age who wish to operate
motorboats. The Utah Boating Safety Certificate serves as proof that a boater has taken and passed an approved boater education course.
The Course material and Exam on this website is approved by the Utah State Parks.
The Utah State Parks and other state agencies regulating boating laws recognize the Boater Education Card that you can receive after successfully completing the Utah Safe Boating Exam on this website which makes you eligible for discounts on marine insurance
Where can I take my safe boating exam and get my Boater Education Card?
You can take both your Boating Safety Course and your Certification Exam directly online at BOATERexam.com™.
Once you pass the exam your boating safety education certificate will be mailed to your home. In the meantime, you can print off a Temporary Boating Safety Certificate
that can be used as a temporary license to satisfy the Utah boating regulations until your permanent certificate arrives.
Where can I get the boater safety education course material?
All the required safe boating training
material to get your boater education card is available
at BOATERexam.com™. Simply visit
our Utah Safe Boating Course section
to gain access to the training material. The Utah
Safe Boating Course is accredited by the Utah State Parks.
Where can I get more information about Utah boating regulations and the Utah boater education card?
Answers to most of your questions about the Utah boater's license can
be found on our Frequently
Asked Questions page. You may also visit The Utah State Parks for additional information, or you can contact
us and we will be glad to answer any of your questions.
Get your Utah Boating License Online!
Did you know?
Many boaters incorrectly use the term "Utah
Boating License" when referring to their Boating Safety Certificate. The
Boating Safety Certificate is NOT a boating license. Unlike a driver's license, your
Boating Safety Certificate cannot be revoked and is good for life.
Boater Education is required for all persons between 12 and 17 years of age who operate a PWC on Utah waters.