Laws & Regulations
Who needs to take the North Dakota boaters safety course?
All boaters between 12 and 15 years of age must have a North Dakota Boater Education Card to operate any motorized watercraft of 10 HP or more. BOATERexam.com® is a delegated provider for the North Dakota Game and Fish Department.
Returning user? Log in here
Approved by the
North Dakota Game and Fish Department
Good for life!
Get your official
North Dakota Boating License
North Dakota Boating Regulations and Laws
The North Dakota Boater Education Card (also referred to as the North Dakota boating license) is proof that a boater has taken and passed an approved boater education course. The North Dakota Game and Fish Department currently has mandatory boater education requirement for all persons between the ages of 12 and 15 years of age who wish to operate a powered vessel over 10 hp, including personal watercraft (PWC), unless accompanied by an adult 18 years or older. Many boaters who do not fall into this category will still wish to get the North Dakota boating license so they can save on their boat insurance.
Many boating fatalities occur because boaters aren't educated about boating safety. The North Dakota believes that an educated boater is a safer boater.
Where can I take my safe boating exam and get my Boater Education Card?
You can take your safe boating exam directly on the Internet at BOATERexam.com®. Once you pass the exam your boater education card is mailed to your home. In the meantime, you can print off a Certificate of Completion that can be used as a temporary card to satisfy the North Dakota boating regulations until your permanent boater education card arrives.
Where can I get the boater safety education course material?
All the required safe boating training material to get your boater education card is available at BOATERexam.com®. Simply visit our North Dakota Safe Boating Course section to gain access to the training material. The North Dakota Safe Boating Course is approved by the North Dakota Game and Fish Department.
Where can I get more information about North Dakota boating regulations and the North Dakota boater education card?
Answers to most of your questions about the North Dakota Boater Education Card can be found by viewing our Frequently Asked Questions. You may also visit the North Dakota Game and Fish Department for additional information, or you can contact us and we will be glad to answer any of your questions.
Did you know?
Many boaters incorrectly use the term "North Dakota Boating License" when referring to their Boater Education Card. The Boater Education Card is NOT a boating license. Unlike a driver's license, your Boater Education Card cannot be revoked and is good for life.
Boater Education is required for all persons between 12 and 15 years of age who operate a powered watercraft over 10hp on North Dakota waters.