Laws & Regulations
Who needs the West Virginia Boater Education Card?
All boaters born after December 30, 1986 must have a West Virginia Boater Education Card to operate any motorized watercraft. BOATERexam.com® is a delegated provider for the West Virginia Division of Natural Resources.
Returning user? Log in here
Approved by the
West Virginia Division of Natural Resources
Good for life!
Get your official
West Virginia Boating License
West Virginia boating safety
All boaters born after December 31, 1986 are required to carry the West Virginia Boating License on board to satisfy state boating regulations while operating on West Virginia's waters.
The online West Virginia Boating License Test satisfies this state requirement. Passing the online exam allows you to obtain the West Virginia Boater Education Card and get out on the water right away!
- No one under the age of 12 may operate a powered vessel, including personal watercraft (PWC).
- No one who is 12 through 14 years old may operate a powered vessel, including PWCs, greater than 10 horsepower unless they are under the direct supervision of a responsible and competent adult who is at least 18 years old.
- Anyone born after December 31, 1986 must have a boater education card to operate a motorized vessel, or supervise an underage operator of any motor powered vessel in West Virginia.
- All boaters or passengers 12 years of age and younger on the deck or cockpit must be wearing their PFD while the vessel is underway.
The online boating safety course covers a wide range of operating laws in West Virginia. For a complete listing of West Virginia’s boat operating rules and regulations, please consult the West Virginia Division of Natural Resources website at http://www.wvdnr.gov/lenforce/boatngcert.shtm