Laws & Regulations
Who needs a Safe Waterskiing Endorsement?
If you are towing a skier or other tower device in Connecticut you must complete this course. You must also be at least 16 years of age and possess a valid boating safety certificate. BOATERexam.com® is a delegated provider for the Connecticut Department of Environmental Protection.
$9 pay when you pass
Returning user? Log in here
Approved by the
Connecticut Department of Environmental Protection
Connecticut boating safety
On October 1, 2015, Connecticut passed a new law called Emily's Law. This law states that anyone operating a vessel or personal watercraft that is towing a water-skier, must:
- Be 16 years of age or older.
- Have a valid boating certificate from Connecticut, or a state that has a reciprocal agreement with Connecticut, or have a US Coast Guard operator’s license. Learn more about how to obtain your Connecticut boating certificate.
- Have a Connecticut Safe Waterskiing Endorsement.
Emily's Law is named after Emily Fedorko, a Connecticut teenager who tragically lost her life in a tubing accident in 2014. Emily’s parents, Pam and Joe Fedorko, have honored Emily's memory by advocating for water safety awareness through the Emily Catherine Fedorko Foundation.
Persons who obtained their Connecticut Boating certificate prior to October 1, 2015 are exempt from the requirement to have a Connecticut Safe Waterskiing Endorsement.
Vessel owners may not allow someone to operate a vessel while towing a water-skier unless the person is legally authorized to do so.