Montana Boating Regulations and Laws
The Montana Boater Education Card (also referred to as the
Montana boating license) is proof that a boater has taken and passed an
approved boater education course. Montana Fish, Wildlife and Parks currently offers a Boater Education Card to prove
that you are a safe boater. This can have benefits such as savings on marine insurance.
Many boating fatalities occur because boaters aren't educated about boating safety. Montana Fish, Wildlife and Parks believes that an educated boater is a safer boater.
Where can I take my safe boating exam and get my Boater Education Card?
You can take your safe boating exam directly on the Internet at BOATERexam.com®.
Once you pass the exam your boater education card is mailed to
your home. In the meantime, you can print off a Certificate of Completion
that can be used until your permanent boater education card arrives.
Where can I get the boater safety education course material?
All the required safe boating training
material to get your boater education card is available
at BOATERexam.com®. Simply visit
our Montana Safe Boating Course section
to gain access to the training material. The Montana
Safe Boating Course is accredited by the Montana Fish, Wildlife and Parks.
Where can I get more information about Montana boating regulations and the Montana boater education card?
Answers to most of your questions about the Montana boater's license can
be found on our Frequently
Asked Questions page. You may also visit The Montana Fish, Wildlife and Parks
for additional information, or you can contact
us and we will be glad to answer any of your questions.
Did you know?
Many boaters incorrectly use the term "Montana Boating
License" when referring to their Boater Education Card. The Boater Education
Card is NOT a boating license. Unlike a driver's license, your Boater Education
Certificate cannot be revoked and is good for life.
A Montana Boating License is required for all persons 13 and 14 years of age* who operate a powered vessel over 10 hp on Montana waters.
* Unless accompanied by someone 18 years of age or older.