The Arkansas Boater Education Card (also referred to as the Arkansas boating license) is proof that a boater has taken and passed an approved boater education course. The Arkansas Game and Fish Commission currently has a mandatory boater education requirement requiring all boaters born on or after January 1, 1986 to have the Arkansas boating license on board when the vessel is underway to satisfy the Arkansas boating regulations.
Personal Flotation Devices (PFDs)
Arkansas boaters are required to carry at least one U.S. Coast Guard approved Type IV PFD (ring buoy OR seat cushion) on all recreational boats that are 16 feet in length or greater, in ADDITION to the wearable PFD required for each person onboard all boats.
Someone being towed behind a vessel is required by law to be wearing an approved PFD.
All PWC occupants must be wearing their PFD while underway.
Children: All boaters or passengers 12 years of age and younger on the deck or cockpit must be wearing their PFD, while the vessel is underway.