Missouri PFD Requirements
Personal Flotation Devices (PFDs)
- The Missouri State Water Patrol requires one wearable Type I, II, III, or V PFD for each person aboard a vessel less than 16 feet in length or any length canoe or kayak.
- Ensure PFDs are readily accessible. Missouri boaters are required to carry at least one Type IV (throwable device) PFD aboard any vessel 16 feet or longer.
- Someone being towed behind a vessel is considered aboard.
- All PWC occupants must be wearing their PFD while underway.
Children: All passengers under the age of 7 years must be wearing their PFD while the vessel is underway if they are not in a completely enclosed area of the boat.
Missouri law requires the owner and/or operator of a vessel is responsible to carry, store, maintain, and use the safety equipment required by the federal safety equipment requirements adopted by the U.S. Coast Guard.
Boater Education is required for all persons born after January 1, 1984 who operate a powered watercraft on Missouri waters.