Take your WASHINGTON Boater Exam® Online
Who needs to take the Washington boaters safety course?
All boaters must have a Washington State Boater Education Card to operate a motorized watercraft of 15 HP or more. BOATERexam.com® is a delegated provider for the Washington State Parks.
Approved by the
Washington State Parks
Good for life!
Get your official
Washington Boating Card
Complete the Washington Boaters Safety Course in
3 Easy Steps
Take your Boater Exam® and be certified for life!
Study the Course
Watch, listen and learn
Pass the Exam
Retries are always free
Print your card
Go boating right away!
Over 2,000,000 boating students certified and counting:
BOATERexam.com has a TrustPilot rating of 4.7 out of 5 based on 17707 ratings and reviews.
Washington Boater Safety Course
In Washington, all boaters must successfully complete a boater safety course approved by the Washington State Parks & Recreation Commission in order to operate a motorboat with greater than 15 hp. Boaters are required to carry the Washington State Boater Education Card as proof of boater education.
Boating Age Requirements
- No person under the age of 12 can operate a motorized vessel of 15 horsepower or greater
- No person under the age of 14 may operate a personal watercraft (PWC)
- In order to rent a personal watercraft (PWC), a person must be at least 16 years of age
Personal Watercraft (PWC) Age Requirements
PWC operators in the state of Washington must be at least fourteen (14) years of age.
Study on Any Device
From laptop to mobile phone to tablet, choose when and where to take your boating course and get your Washington Boating Card.
Visual Exam Questions
Visual Exam Questions Help You Learn
We found out a long time ago that people learn best when they can see what they're learning. Shouldn't you be tested the same way? Every one of our exam questions is illustrated to help you get your boating licence.
Hundreds of Engaging Videos
Our Washington boating course features hundreds of rich engaging boating videos and animations. That means you aren't just reading: You're watching, listening and learning.
$34.95 + $10 card fee
Returning user? Log in here
Washington Approved Boating & Safety Course
BOATERexam.com® is trusted by agencies across the United States to deliver the best of quality in boater safety. Our courses consistently receive the highest level of approval from agencies and from boaters.
This official Washington boating safety course is approved by the Washington State Parks.
Washington State Parks
PO Box 42650
Olympia, WA 98504
Protect your on-water adventures
Relaxing on the water is easy when you’re protected with a leader in boat insurance. Progressive has the coverages you need to explore carefree and full of adventure! Discover how we can protect your boat today with coverage we offer to the 1 million+ watercraft we already insure.Get a Quote
A Wavve of Savings
Start Your Free 2-Week Trial
Wavve Boating provides easy to use GPS navigation, customizable nautical maps, social connectivity and more. Get the iOS or Android app today!Start My Trial
WA Boating Regulations E-BookDownloadable Washington State Specific Boating
and Regulations E-book!
Download them, print them, share them, save them to your mobile device! From registration to accident reporting to invasive species to law enforcement.
Everything state specific to Washington, in one neat & tidy little E-book. NOTE: Not a substitute for the online course. Download PDF Now!
Have a quick question about Washington boating regulations? A great first stop is our Washington State Boating Laws page where we answer some of the most frequently asked questions about state boating laws, like who needs a Boater Education Card.
Washington Frequently Asked Questions
Below are some common questions about safe boating rules & regulations.
How much does the boat safety course cost?
What payment methods are accepted?
What is the "Temporary Boater Education Card"?
What is the Washington Boater Education Card?
I do not have a driver's license. Can I still get the Washington boater license?
How can I get my Washington boating license?
You can obtain your Washington Boater Education Card in 3 easy steps:
- Pay the one-time fee of $34.95 + $10.00 state fee – free unlimited retries of the final exam
- Study the Washington Boaters Safety Course, and pass the final exam
- Print your Temporary Boater Education Card. Your Washington Boater Education Card will be available for download from the Washington State Parks site.
This official Washington boaters safety course is approved by the Washington State Parks.
How long is the boat safety course and boater license good for?
Is anyone exempt from obtaining the Washington boating license?
Is there a time limit to complete the online course?
How many questions are on the exam?
What is the passing grade?
Need Help? Visit the BOATERexam.com® Help Center
The BOATERexam.com® Help Center is the place to find answers and solutions to your questions.
We've helped over 2 million people get certified online. So, we know what it takes.